AI receptionist alternatives
Ruby alternatives
A live virtual receptionist service. Every plan has the same features and differs only in included receptionist minutes; AI features are included at no extra cost rather than sold as a separate AI receptionist. Plans start at $250 a month for 50 receptionist minutes.
Published by Vocapable · Ruby sources checked · Ruby pricing explained
Why people look beyond Ruby
- Receptionist minutes are billed in 60-second increments and each call is rounded up to the next minute. Hold time and after-call work count; talk time after a transfer does not. Additional minutes are billed at an overage rate the public page does not state.
- Ruby is a human service, so a receptionist minute is a person’s time: an AI receptionist’s per-second metering and a receptionist minute rounded up to 60 seconds are different units. The overage rate is not published, so a month above the allowance needs a quote.
- The pricing page states no activation, onboarding or setup fees; the terms say first-month fees plus any applicable setup or activation are due up front, and card payments carry a 3% surcharge.
Source: Ruby plans and pricing; Ruby FAQs; Ruby terms of use.
When to stay
A person on the line can exercise judgment, calm an upset caller and handle a call that no approved answer covers. If a meaningful share of your calls needs that, keep a human service reachable and compare the two on the calls that do not.
The alternatives, ranked on one month: 80 calls of about 3 minutes, 80 unique callers
| Rank | Provider | Modeled month | In a sentence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ruby | Ruby today | $1,725500 receptionist minutes; receptionist minutes assumed equal to call minutes | What you pay for the same month on Ruby’s published plans. |
| 1 | Vocapable with your own Twilio account | $39Starter; plus your Twilio bill | The same receptionist at a lower subscription on your own verified Twilio account. |
| 2 | Rosie | $49Professional within allowance; overage alternative not verified | Consider Vocapable for business answering with an explicit phone arrangement, configured transfer and fallback. Its published managed Starter price and allowance match Rosie Professional. The most useful difference is what you need the receptionist to do after answering. |
| 3 | Vocapable, US local number included | $49Starter; one standard US local number; no transfer or non-AI time | A published allowance of AI minutes with a number included; answers only from approved information, with a configured transfer and fallback. No SMS or full-call recording in the offer. |
| 4 | Upfirst | $59.95Premium | Vocapable is worth choosing for frequent, concise calls that fit its included AI minutes. Upfirst can be cheaper for a small number of longer calls. The right comparison starts with monthly calls and duration, then checks the actions you need during those calls. |
| 5 | Goodcall | $79Starter | Vocapable is an attractive paid option for a modest amount of conversation time and clear control of your Twilio account. Goodcall’s pricing can be better when the same people call repeatedly or conversations run long. Count unique callers before comparing these offers. |
| 6 | My AI Front Desk | $99Monthly; shared credit pool used only for voice; includes reload blocks | Choose Vocapable when business phone answering and useful handoffs are the work you need today. My AI Front Desk packages several channels together. Compare the value of those channels only if your team will use them. |
| 7 | Dialzara | $108 voice subtotalBusiness Pro; confirm number charges and extra-minute funding | Choose Vocapable when the larger paid minute allowance and BYO Twilio arrangement match your business. Dialzara’s lower entry price is attractive for a small number of short calls. Compare a normal month, not the size of the first payment. |
| 8 | RingCentral | $119Standalone with published overage; minute bundles may be cheaper | Vocapable makes sense when you want an explicit receptionist allowance and a choice of supported phone arrangements. RingCentral deserves a close look when your team already uses RingEX. Count the underlying phone subscription when comparing an add-on price with a standalone service. |
| 9 | Smith.ai | $162.50Pro 75 | Choose Vocapable when you want your own Twilio account and a minute allowance for regular business calls. Smith.ai is a serious choice for very light usage: its free allowance can cost less than a paid receptionist. Compare the conditions of free service before moving a business number. |
| n/a | Phonely | Confirm quotePaid cards and detailed allowance table conflict | Phonely deserves a place on a lowest-cost receptionist shortlist: its free offer includes a number and 100 AI minutes every month. Choose Vocapable when keeping your own Twilio account and its configured business handoff are requirements worth paying carrier charges for. |
Lowest modeled monthly total first. The month is the same for every row; the plans and units are each vendor’s own.
Questions about Ruby alternatives
Why do people look for Ruby alternatives?
Receptionist minutes are billed in 60-second increments and each call is rounded up to the next minute. Hold time and after-call work count; talk time after a transfer does not. Additional minutes are billed at an overage rate the public page does not state. Ruby is a human service, so a receptionist minute is a person’s time: an AI receptionist’s per-second metering and a receptionist minute rounded up to 60 seconds are different units. The overage rate is not published, so a month above the allowance needs a quote. The pricing page states no activation, onboarding or setup fees; the terms say first-month fees plus any applicable setup or activation are due up front, and card payments carry a 3% surcharge.
When is Ruby the right choice?
A person on the line can exercise judgment, calm an upset caller and handle a call that no approved answer covers. If a meaningful share of your calls needs that, keep a human service reachable and compare the two on the calls that do not.
How are the alternatives priced?
Every service is priced on the same month of 80 calls of about 3 minutes, 80 unique callers, on the lowest published plan that covers it, with the vendor's published overage where there is one. Lowest modeled total first; a month a vendor's public prices cannot cover is listed last with the reason.
Sources
First-party guide from Vocapable; no independent call-quality benchmark is claimed. Ruby’s facts come from its own pages:
- Ruby plans and pricing: Four phone plans by receptionist minutes, same features on every plan, no published overage rate. Checked .
- Ruby FAQs: Minute counting in 60-second increments, included number, monthly cancellation, human receptionists. Checked .
- Ruby terms of use: Overage billed in arrears, 30-day renewal, card surcharge, possible setup or activation fees. Checked .
- Vocapable pricing: our figures use the same module as the published rate card.
Prices change. Send a correction with the source and the offer you are comparing.
Hear Vocapable answer before you switch.
Set up from your website, review every answer, and keep your existing number.