Vendor pricing explained

Ruby pricing, explained.

A live virtual receptionist service. Every plan has the same features and differs only in included receptionist minutes; AI features are included at no extra cost rather than sold as a separate AI receptionist. Plans start at $250 a month for 50 receptionist minutes.

Published by Vocapable · Ruby pages checked · Ruby alternatives

The published plans

As published on Ruby’s own pages on the date shown; USD.
PlanPriceIncludedBeyond the allowance
50 receptionist minutes$250/month50 receptionist minutesNot published
100 receptionist minutes$395/month100 receptionist minutesNot published
200 receptionist minutes$720/month200 receptionist minutesNot published
500 receptionist minutes$1,725/month500 receptionist minutesNot published

How Ruby bills

  • Receptionist minutes are billed in 60-second increments and each call is rounded up to the next minute. Hold time and after-call work count; talk time after a transfer does not. Additional minutes are billed at an overage rate the public page does not state.
  • Ruby is a human service, so a receptionist minute is a person’s time: an AI receptionist’s per-second metering and a receptionist minute rounded up to 60 seconds are different units. The overage rate is not published, so a month above the allowance needs a quote.
  • The pricing page states no activation, onboarding or setup fees; the terms say first-month fees plus any applicable setup or activation are due up front, and card payments carry a 3% surcharge.

Source: Ruby plans and pricing; Ruby FAQs; Ruby terms of use.

What a month costs on Ruby, beside Vocapable

Equal-length AI-answered calls, no transfer or waiting time, one number; taxes and optional services excluded.
MonthRubyVocapable, number includedVocapable, your own Twilio
Light use: 25 calls, 50 minutes, 25 unique callers$25050 receptionist minutes; receptionist minutes assumed equal to call minutes$49$0plus your Twilio bill
Short daily calls: 80 calls, 240 minutes, 80 unique callers$1,725500 receptionist minutes; receptionist minutes assumed equal to call minutes$49$39plus your Twilio bill
Busy month: 300 calls, 900 minutes, 300 unique callersConfirm quoteAbove the published allowances; the overage rate is not published$107.50$71.50plus your Twilio bill
Long repeat calls: 100 calls, 1,000 minutes, 25 unique callersConfirm quoteAbove the published allowances; the overage rate is not published$116.50$76.50plus your Twilio bill

Price your own month →

When Ruby is the right choice

A person on the line can exercise judgment, calm an upset caller and handle a call that no approved answer covers. If a meaningful share of your calls needs that, keep a human service reachable and compare the two on the calls that do not.

Questions about Ruby pricing

How much does Ruby cost per month?

A live virtual receptionist service. Every plan has the same features and differs only in included receptionist minutes; AI features are included at no extra cost rather than sold as a separate AI receptionist. Plans start at $250 a month for 50 receptionist minutes.

What does the Ruby headline price leave out?

Receptionist minutes are billed in 60-second increments and each call is rounded up to the next minute. Hold time and after-call work count; talk time after a transfer does not. Additional minutes are billed at an overage rate the public page does not state.

Is Ruby cheaper than Vocapable?

It depends on the month. The table above prices Ruby and Vocapable on the same four months of calls from their published plans. Where Ruby is cheaper the figure says so; where a month needs a quote the cell says that instead of guessing.

Sources and method

A first-party explainer from Vocapable, not an independent review. Prices are dated evidence from the vendor’s own pages, never live quotes, and the month figures use the lowest published plan that covers the month plus the published overage where there is one.

  • Ruby plans and pricing: Four phone plans by receptionist minutes, same features on every plan, no published overage rate. Checked .
  • Ruby FAQs: Minute counting in 60-second increments, included number, monthly cancellation, human receptionists. Checked .
  • Ruby terms of use: Overage billed in arrears, 30-day renewal, card surcharge, possible setup or activation fees. Checked .
  • Vocapable pricing: the same pricing module as the published rate card.

Prices change. Send a correction with the source and the offer you are comparing.

Compare it against a published rate card.

Every Vocapable rate is on one page, and setup from your website lets you review every answer before you pay.

Find your next step.